I Went Out For A Spell

This past Friday, I wrapped up yet another busy college semester. Since I didn’t feel like sitting at my computer and wait for my final grades to be tabulated, I decided to enjoy the start of three months of freedom and go to the mall. For some reason, whenever I go to the mall, I always seem to enter via the same store – the bookstore.  I love browsing through the bookstore since I am an avid reader.

As part of my browsing venture, I went to the children’s section to look for potential books to read to my grandson. I browsed through books by the likes of Dr. Seuss, Mercer Mayer, and Shel Silverstein among others. As I was browsing, I noticed a young lady who was there with a boy about 4 or 5 years old (presumably her son). The young lad was very well behaved and quietly browsed through books while his mother was on the phone having a conversation.

I couldn’t help but overhear some bits and pieces of her end of the phone conversation. This dutiful young mother was still at a very significant stage of her son’s development – the spelling stage. This stage is when parents spell words that they don’t want their child to overhear. The late Tammy Wynette had a hit song called D-I-V-O-R-C-E  based around this very parenting stage. The young mother talked about how her son really hated going to the D-O-C-T-O-R. As a matter of fact, the last time her little child got S-I-C-K it made him very N-E-R-V-O-U-S because it meant he might need to get a S-H-O-T or a B-L-O-O-D test and have to take some M-E-D-I-C-I-N-E.

I really don’t know what stuck with me more. Was it the fact that this young man was apparently very N-E-R-V-O-U-S about seeing the D-O-C-T-O-R? Was it perhaps the impressive was that this young mother rattled off some multi-syllabic words so well. In any case, I felt it better to give the young lady a little more P-R-I-V-A-C-Y. After all, I am not an E-A-V-E-S-D-R-O-P-P-E-R. Besides, if I had heard much more I was going to G-I-G-G-L-E rather L-O-U-D-L-Y.

Leave a Reply

